Why is Fundraising an Art?

pexels-photo-187334This is my second post in this newly formed blog. I am waiting to publish it on social media. I would like to have more post and create a consistent writing routine.

This week I want to explore the idea of fundraising being an art. My artistic experience with fundraising began in January 2014 when I decided to work on a two year research project while in my undergrad. The title of my research paper was, “Nonprofit Organizations and the Art of Fundraising”. Which, is where the title for this blog came from.

The definition of art is, “the expression or application of human creative skill and imagination”. Art generates emotions, whether those emotions be good or bad it sparks a response. Fundraising does the same thing. I would like to propose that the definition of a fundraising strategy is, “the expression or application of human creative skill and imagination”. Fundraising can not be simply asking people for money, but rather an expression of creativity and skill that generates a response.

The exciting part of fundraising is the appeal or solicitation. There is room for creativity, innovation, and imagination. Like an artist a fundraiser is imaginative. always thinking, dreaming, and casting vision. The excitement for the future and for potential is unreal inside a fundraiser. At least it is inside me. I look at the organization that I work for, and I see the large donor base that was built far before I arrived on the scene. Yet, even though it seems great. I see the potential for growth, for new ideas, and most importantly for a renewed passion from donors.

This idea goes back to the theme that was discussed in last week’s blog. The scripture says in Matthew,

For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.

What you sow into depends on the emotions that you feel when confronted with a potential solution from a nonprofit. As a development director it is my job to cultivate those emotions in people. How awesome! With a little creativity and imagination I believe that the sky is the limit for any nonprofit.

Leave a Reply

